Murder On The Mind by L.L. Bartlett

Murder On The Mind by L.L. Bartlett is the first book in the “Jeff Resnick” mystery series. Publisher: Worldwide Library, October 2007

Dark Dreams

After a mugging in Manhattan leaves him with a broken arm and fractured skull, insurance investigator Jeff Resnick reluctantly agrees to recover at the home of his estranged half brother, Richard. At first, Jeff believes his graphic nightmares of murder are just the workings of his traumatized mind. But when a local banker is found dead, Jeff believes the attack has left him with a sixth sense—an ability to see murder before it happens.

Piecing together clues he saw in his dreams, Jeff attempts to solve the crime. His brother Richard is skeptical, but unsettling developments begin to forge a tentative bond. Soon, things that couldn’t be explained by premonition come to light, and Jeff finds himself probing into dangerous secrets that touch his own traumatic past in wintry Buffalo—where a killer is ready to darken Jeff’s visions permanently.

This book was a great ride that I didn’t want to get off.  After his accident, Jeff got weird feelings and saw a murder before it even happened.  Once he moved to Buffalo, it was apparent that he had the beginnings of psychic abilities and for himself; he had to solve the murder.  With help from his brother, the two sought out tangible information that will lead to the killer’s arrest.  I fell in love with the characters and I love the tone of this story.   Having read the second book in this series first, I now have a better understanding of the dynamics between the two brothers and it broke my heart (yeah, tears fell down my face) when I heard about how their mother died and when Jeff gave Richard a present. This is a good read and I highly recommend it.  My rating: 5 stars

*originally published by Five Star Publishing, November 2005

L.L. Bartlett is the pseudonym of Lorraine Bartlett.

Comments are closed.